Scottish Provident introduces new critical illness definitions

Scottish Provident has made substantial changes to its critical illness definitions.

It now offers additional cover for low-grade prostate cancer and an early form of breast cancer known as ductal carcinoma in situ (DCIS). The more common treatment for DCIS, a lumpectomy, is also covered.

As part of the changes Scottish Provident has also introduced five new definitions:

  • Intensive care - requiring mechanical ventilation for 10 consecutive days
  • Pneumonectomy - removal of a complete lung
  • Encephalitis - resulting in permanent symptoms
  • Multiple system atrophy - resulting in permanent symptoms
  • Systemic lupus erythematosus - with severe complications.


Comment on this page »


Latest news

Spire Harpenden Hospital wins prestigious industry award

New testing technique comes to The Royal Marsden

Bupa announce £2.9 million investment

Scottish Provident introduces new critical illness definitions
Connect with us on:

This site compiles with the HONcode standard for trustworthy health information