[Skip to content]

Private Healthcare UK
Search our Site

This website is certified by Health On the Net Foundation. Click to verify.
This site complies with the HONcode standard for trustworthy health information:
verify here.


Scottish Provident introduces new critical illness definitions

Scottish provident logo

Scottish Provident has made substantial changes to its critical illness definitions.


It now offers additional cover for low-grade prostate cancer and an early form of breast cancer known as ductal carcinoma in situ (DCIS). The more common treatment for DCIS, a lumpectomy, is also covered.


As part of the changes Scottish Provident has also introduced five new definitions:


  • Intensive care - requiring mechanical ventilation for 10 consecutive days

  • Pneumonectomy - removal of a complete lung

  • Encephalitis - resulting in permanent symptoms

  • Multiple system atrophy - resulting in permanent symptoms

  • Systemic lupus erythematosus - with severe complications.

Critical illness insurance news: 7 June 2011